A Place to Put Things

Originally, this was going to be a page about a science fiction RPG, but that never really got off the ground. The name and the Metropolis quote on the About page seemed apropos, so I just left it.  But the purpose has morphed into something else entirely. I’m going to use this page as a place to put information, journals, pictures, recorded tracks, anything else I can think of dealing with my urban hiking and exploration around this insane city, Los Angles.

There are a few Big Hikes I want to do, such as the Inman 300 which I’ll be starting next week, and many more one off walks I’d like to explore such as the various river bike paths.  I’m not sure where the delineation between wilderness hiking and urban hiking will be, or even if there will be one here.  There’s a weird fuzzy line between the two in this place that I never expected till I started to get out there and walk around.  You can walk forever in urban sprawl then suddenly find yourself up in the San Gabriels, then take a turn down a staircase and you’re suddenly back in the city.

There is, incredibly, a lot to like about hiking around this city, and in doing so, I’m coming to terms with living here. This is something I’ve not been able to do in the four years since I moved here from the Pacific Northwest.  In getting out there and pounding the pavement, in defiance of the car madness that has the 20 million people here so in its thrall, I can get to know it in ways those stuck in their cars can never do.  This may seem like arrogant justification from a non-auto commuter, but I believe it to be true none the less.  I’ve had a car here and it sucked so fucking bad.  Walking and taking transit is a million times easier here, demonstrably destroying the myth that “you can’t live in LA without a car”.

Anyway…

I’m excited to post my explorations here. I hope you’re interested in reading about them.

See you on the sidewalk.

Author: nazhuret

Just playing games.

Leave a Reply

